#ThinThursday for me!

Happy New Year everyone! I hadn’t realised I hadn’t blogged since November, life’s been so crazy with work and promoting the books and our animated series that I haven’t had the time to blog until now!

I have been introduced to a new Twitter group called #ThinThursday where people can tweet about their weight loss journey and get support from others who are also trying to lose weight. It’s a great idea! I have decided to join in and get involved as I really want to lose weight this year.

I was a chunky baby when I was little!

n724372135_148024_3529

I have always had a complex relationship with food, but being diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) in late 1995 when I was only just 17 years old did not help matters. One of the problems with having PCOS is that your body cannot break down sugar the same as a non-PCOS woman, and the sugar basically turns to fat. Having PCOS also means that you are at a much higher risk of developing diabetes, so that’s fun!

I have tried Slimming World in the past, and that worked well for me as there was no weighing, just red and green days, but I have decided to aim for a low-GI/diabetic diet going forward, as I really need to keep my sugar levels low. I have found that once my sugar levels are up, I then crave more sweet stuff to keep them up, so it’s a never-ending cycle. Meringue is the worst for me: if I eat meringue it makes me feel ‘drunk’, then I’m up for a bit, then I have a really big sugar crash and I feel like crap. Almost like drinking loads of alcohol, then a hangover coming on within a few minutes. I found this out when I ate meringue at work on an empty stomach when someone who was leaving brought them in, then I acted like I was drunk, which everyone thought was hilarious! Even now, people will say from time to time, “eat some meringue, you’re funny when you’re drunk!”

For once I don’t mind that I put weight on at Christmas, as it means that I’ll have more of an impressive loss at the end! I wish I’d had more stollen now lol

I will be weighing myself on a Thursday morning, then I’ll report in on a Thursday evening after work to report how well (or how bad!) I’ve done.

If you’re also taking part, good luck! xx

Leave a Reply

