My favourite uplifting and empowering songs

There are times when not even chocolate can cheer you up and get you out of the grump that you find yourself in. It is at times like that that I like to turn to that old faithful, music, to put a smile back on my face. These are my favourite go-to’s for when the going has gotten tough…

The Lighthouse Family – Goodbye Heartbreak
I think one of things I love about this song are the lyrics,
You remember as a girl,
You had a picture of the world,
And you’d think about the great things you would find.
The thing is nine to five,
And a struggle to survive,
Ain’t exactly what you had in mind.
But that’s the beauty of life,
Takes a while to find,
You can’t have things your own way all the time.”

When I was about 11, I used to buy Smash Hits magazine all the time. One issue they printed a map of the world showing where all of the music styles were most popular like grunge, hardcore, grime, etc and I was captivated by the map. It made me realise that there was more to life than living in Leeds, which is all I’d done for the 11 years I’d been alive so far. It really wakened in me an urge to travel and see the world, but here I am at 34, in a 9-5 job, having never really seen the world. So every time I hear those lines, it really re-awakens that urge in me to travel and see more than my own backyard and transports me back to that time when it seemed that I had my whole life ahead of me, and that anything was possible.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Kelly Clarkson – Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)
I’ve been a big fan of Kelly’s since she won American Idol back in 2002. This is one of those songs that really works best in an empty house (unless you love an audience!) and on full volume so you can really belt it out!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Carrie Underwood – Before He Cheats
Carrie is another singer I’ve loved since she won American Idol in 2005. This is one of my Carrie faves and I would love to sing it at karaoke someday!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Dolly Parton – Nine To Five
This is a song I love to sing at karaoke as it always seems to make people smile (the song, not necessarily my singing!). I love the film it’s taken from and it’s a great song to be singing to yourself if you hate your job!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Swedish House Mafia featuring John Martin – Don’t You Worry Child (live)
I’ve always been into dance music since I was small and got my first “Now” music cassettes. This is a song that is both uplifting and dance-inducing, it’s hard to sit still when the beat kicks in. I love the uplifting lyrics too 🙂

Leave a Reply

