My favourite musical films (part one!)

I was reading someone else’s review of the theatre version of The Rocky Horror Picture Show and so I ended up watching videos of the theatre performance on YouTube, which naturally led to me watching clips of the original film. I haven’t done a film post in a while so I thought I’d bore you, tell you, all about some of my favourite musical films.

I’ve always loved musicals. There’s something about a rousing chorus line that just gives me goosebumps and makes me jealous that I’m not in the film, singing and dancing like a loon. I don’t mind whether the songs are original to the film (Grease) or cover versions (Pitch Perfect), if they’re new songs I’ll soon learn them and be singing away, in anticipation of buying the soundtrack, which usually happens.

I won’t be including Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat as I haven’t seen the show but I did used to have the soundtrack on cassette when I was younger, so I thought I’d give it a special mention πŸ™‚

So, eyes down, here we go, with five of my favourite musical films and my favourite song from that film (in no particular order)…

1. The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)
I said on another blog post that I’d happily watch Tim Curry read the phone book, because it’s true. He’s such a brilliant actor, and has a lovely pair of legs too πŸ™‚ I’ve never been lucky enough to see TRHPS live, only the film, but everyone I know who has ever seen it live has raved about it afterwards, for ages it seemed (jealous, me?).
FAVOURITE SONG: Hot Patootie – Bless My Soul
As much as The Timewarp or Touch Me are great, I’ve chosen Hot Patootie simply because Meat Loaf’s in it, and I’m a big Meat Loaf fan. He’s fab as Eddie but I’ve never been happy with Eddie’s demise 😦

2. Calamity Jane (1953)
I haven’t really seen many Doris Day films, but she’s simply sensational in this. Doris Day has said many times that this film and film role were her personal favourite of all of the films she has starred in, so I’m in good company!
FAVOURITE SONG: Just Blew In From The Windy City
It’s such a great sing-a-long song that just makes you smile πŸ™‚

3. Pitch Perfect (2012)
If you’ve read my blog post about Pitch Perfect, you’ll know that I am in fact, an obsessee of this film, and that before I ever watched the film, I’d already seen most of the major clips and songs on YouTube before it was ever released. I could literally watch this over and over and never get bored. Rebel Wilson is hilarious, but I really love Anna Kendrick, Brittany Snow and Skylar Astin. I can’t wait to buy the soundtrack and I was beyond excited when I found out that the sequel is due out in 2015!
FAVOURITE SONG: Just The Way You Are (Amazing)/Just A Dream (mash-up)
I really wanted to put a different song in but didn’t want to spoil it for anyone who’s not yet seen it, so I chose the mash-up instead πŸ™‚

4. Hairspray (2007)
I used to watch the original film on VHS video (because I’m that old…) and it will always have a special place with me, but I really love the 2007 remake. There are so many of my favourite actors in it: Amanda Bynes, Brittany Snow, Zac Efron, James Marsden, Queen Latifah, John Travolta and Christopher Walken being simply fabulous (see below…)
FAVOURITE SONG: (You’re) Timeless To Me
I have seen Christopher Walken in many films, but nothing quite like this. He is so cute singing to John Travolta dressed as a woman. It sounds odd on paper, but they make a great on-screen couple. I love the giggles you get out of both of them. Aw!

5. Grease 2 (1982)
I’m going to be controversial and state, for the record, that I (whisper it) prefer Grease 2 to the 1978 original. I do like the original, I just prefer the songs in the second film. Michelle Pfeiffer and Maxwell Caulfield are great together.
FAVOURITE SONG: Who’s That Guy.
I also like the songs Reproduction and Cool Rider, but Who’s That Guy just pipped them to the post. I think because you know it’s Michael and you’re just waiting for him and Stephanie to finally get together πŸ™‚

I’ll be back with more favourites soon πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “My favourite musical films (part one!)

    1. I know what you mean, Calamity Jane to me is a real duvet day, Sunday afternoon chilling out kind of film. I’d love to see Hairspray live, I don’t think I’d be able to sit still! πŸ™‚

  1. I LOVE Calamity Jane! Secret Love is one of my favourite musical songs ever. Loved Grease 2 as well, way better than the first one! Pitch Perfect was brilliant, but I was disappointed that Titanium wasn’t on the soundtrack! *whispers* I’ve never seen Hairspray…

    1. Secret Love is just a beautiful song, Doris Day is so talented. I hadn’t realised that Titanium is missing. I am yet to buy the soundtrack. That’s ok if you haven’t seen Hairspray, there are so many “classic” films I’ve never seen! Both versions are great in their own way πŸ™‚

  2. Grease 2 is fabulous, and in Michelle’s first leading role she’s already too good for her own movies. Too cool for school.

    1. Hi Pete, a great post from you as ever! I love Bugsy Malone, it’s such a fab Sunday afternoon kind of film. No matter what’s happening in your life, Bugsy Malone just transports you to a happier place πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

