Horror films I enjoyed even though I have necrophobia

I have necrophobia. Yes, I know that that’s unfortunate when I am married to a horror author. Especially when I handle a lot of the admin online and have to view stuff I’d rather not see that Michael helpfully tells me is “make up”. Hmm, it looks suspiciously realistic to me…

That being said, there have been a few films I have watched that, even though they were gory, I still enjoyed. I shall list them now for you! πŸ™‚

Sleepy Hollow (1999)
Johnny Depp plays police constable Ichabod Crane who gets sent from New York to a village called Sleepy Hollow to investigate a series of murders that seem to have been carried out by a Headless Horseman. This is another film where Johnny Depp teams up with Tim Burton (I love some of their other collaborations too such as Edward Scissorhands and Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, which I’ll talk about below). There is an all-star cast in this film, including Christina Ricci, Miranda Richardson, Michael Gambon, Christopher Walken, Richard Griffiths, Christopher Lee and Alun Armstrong. There is quite a bit of beheading in the film but because I have seen the film that many times, I know when to look away to avoid the really gory bits! It’s a great story-line and I would recommend this to fellow necrophobics, as the film really is worth watching πŸ™‚

28 Days Later (2002)
Activists break into an animal laboratory. They try to free chimpanzees that are being used for medical research. The activists are interrupted by a scientist (played by David Schneider). He warns them that the chimpanzees are infected with a virus dubbed “Rage”. He tells them it’s highly contagious and only one bite will cause it to spread. The activists don’t listen and open the cages anyway and release the chimpanzees. One of the chimps attacks one of the activists and she immediately becomes infected with “Rage”. She then infects other members of the group. 28 days later, Jim (played by Cillian Murphy), wakes up from a coma in a London hospital. He leaves the hospital after discovering that he is the only person in the place, and finds that London is completely deserted. He comes to a church but it is inhabited by zombie like humans so he runs. He is rescued by Selena (Naomie Harris) and Mark (Noah Huntley). They then set about trying to survive. This film was directed by Danny Boyle and also stars Brendan Gleeson and Christopher Eccleston. Even though there are gory bits, I really enjoyed 28 Days Later, and I am yet to watch 28 Weeks Later.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007)
This is another film where the marvellous Tim Burton joins forces with Johnny Depp. Sweeney Todd is a barber and serial killer who murders his customers. Mrs. Lovett (played by Helena Bonham Carter) runs a meat pie shop and turns the murdered victims into pies. It is gruesome, but I was enjoying the film so much that I could see past all that. It also stars an all-star cast including the fabulous Alan Rickman, Timothy Spall and Sacha Baron Cohen.

14 thoughts on “Horror films I enjoyed even though I have necrophobia

  1. Haven’t seen Sweeney Todd, yet, although I will. The other two, I know to be excellent movies. Thank you for reminding me of them in your succinct commentary.

  2. I’m weird because I love horror/twisted movies, the more twisted the better but I’m also easily terrified. I give myself nightmares all the time. I don’t know why I enjoy that, I like being scared for some reason.

    1. I guess it’s like rollercoasters. You know you’re going to be terrified, sometimes while you’re still in the queue, yet you still queue up for 2 hours to go on the ride anyway πŸ™‚

  3. I’m not really into horror movies but if there are interesting ones I watch them (with company of course).
    Thanks for listing sleepy hallow.. I loved this movie to pieces..!!!!! one of JoHnny Depp’s best… plus he’s really good looking in this movie.. πŸ˜€

    PS: Some korean horror movies are good too.. πŸ˜€

    1. I’d only watch horror films with company too, I would be too scared alone!
      Sleepy Hollow is a great film, Johnny Depp is such a good actor. I love him in Edward Scissorhands too.
      I will have to try watching korean horror movies, so thank you for letting me know πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve always been a huge fan of horror films… until they all started being explicitly and hyper-realisticly gory. Now they just turn my stomach.
    I also hate how they play with loud noises. There used to be more creativity…

    I enjoyed the ones you mentioned quite a lot too because they’re rather “old school” if you know what I mean.

    But my favorite ever horror movie has to be The Changeling (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0080516/). No raucous sounds, no blood, no mutilations… still one of the scariest movies I’ve ever watched πŸ˜€

    1. I think some horror films should have their own genre if it’s super gory. Films like Se7en are scary but psychologically scary.

      I haven’t seen The Changling, I tried to add it to my Lovefilm list but they only have the Angelina Jolie film called Changling (2008). I will keep an eye out for it on TV πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

