Film Review Friday: Hansel and Gretel – Witch Hunters (2012)

Starring: Jeremy Renner, Gemma Arterton, Famke Janssen, Peter Stormare
Runtime: 1 hour 28 minutes
Rating: 15
LoveFilm synopsis: 15 years after their traumatic gingerbread-house incident, siblings Hansel and Gretel have become a formidable team of bounty hunters who track and kill witches all over the world.
(Source: http://www.lovefilm.com/film/Hansel-and-Gretel-Witch-Hunters/174130/)

My verdict: I had heard so many good things about this film so I was glad when it arrived from LoveFilm. I must admit that this is the first film I have seen Jeremy Renner in and I only knew Gemma Arterton from the St. Trinian’s films. I really enjoyed it, and even though it’s a comedy horror, the horror bits weren’t too gruesome but the comedy was often and very funny. Famke Janssen was beautiful and scary (depending on which face you were looking at) and Peter Stormare was hilarious as Sheriff Berringer. I would recommend this film and I am looking forward to watching the sequel when it comes out.

8 thoughts on “Film Review Friday: Hansel and Gretel – Witch Hunters (2012)

  1. Bounty hunters? Ugh why does everything fantasy related from the States* end up as just another cop show? That format is such a lazy and predicable default it seems to me and I get horribly bored of guns guns bang bang all the time too.

    *Well apart from Game of Thrones, which is an entirely amazing production, thank heavens for HBO!

Leave a Reply

