A note to my younger self

If I could write this note, time travel, and leave it somewhere that my younger self would find it, I SO WOULD! Turning 35 next month has left me somewhat reflective about where did my life go? Like, how am I 35 in November??!! Crazyness. Anyway, I wanted to write myself a note, and maybe a younger Jenny in internet-land will see it, and it will help them. I couldn’t fix me, maybe I can fix them. Nothing like a cathartic blog post, eh?

So, what would my note say?

1. No matter how poor you get, don’t sell your stuff on eBay or at car boot sales, as that stuff is important to you now, and believe me, you will be ruing the day you got rid of them. That 7″ Take That single they signed before they were massive? Where is it now, younger Jenny? What the **** did you do with it? Gah. Also, you should NEVER have left that queue to meet Take That when you were 12. You’d already queued for an hour! So what if your friend Vicky wouldn’t queue anymore and left for the bus home, you should have stayed. Rookie mistake.

2. In relation to above, be better with money. Just because you suddenly have some, don’t go ker-razy and spend it on tat. You’ll need that money for say food, rent, etc. This see-sawing of affluence and gutter-bound will continue for many years, so maybe learn the basics of saving early on, eh?

3. Also connected to #1, don’t lose all the photos you had of concerts you went to, like Party In The Park when Let Loose waved to you from their van and you felt like the world had stood still for a moment. We all know what Blue and people like that look like now but there was no Twitter, Facebook, etc when these concerts took place, and maybe people who also attended, or are your age, would like to see those photos of a moment in time in a fit of retro flashbackness.

And most importantly:

4. You will always try to fix everyone and everything. You cannot avoid this one. You were born this way so I’d just get used to it early on. Sometimes that urge to be a ‘vet’ or ‘miracle worker’ will lead you into strange situations. Yeah, try and avoid them. You will always have strange OCD and only be able to tidy a room starting at the doorway and working clockwise. It helps you to see what you’ve done so far, rather than scatter-gunning, so that’s a useful one.

I guess you’ve already figured that fate leads you. Continue to believe that, because it’s true. Try and be happy, life will work itself out. Even though you have to wait thirty long, stressful years, your knight in shining armour will ride up on his white charger and rescue you, and believe it or not, you will live happily ever after, because he really is the most amazing, wonderful man you could ever meet and hope to marry. Which you do, when you’re the ripe old age of 31. The best things in life are worth the wait, and Michael proves that.

So, I hope that you get to read this, younger Jenny, and that you’re the happy me I am today when you’re 34. Because, despite what you’ve always thought, you’re actually alright.

22 thoughts on “A note to my younger self

    1. Thanks Karen! I hope you’re well. It’s strange timing that you should comment, I’m going to be catching up with your posts in about an hour! I hope you’re well and all tanned from your holiday πŸ˜€ xxx

      1. I feel great Jenny, it was such a fun holiday and I laughed loads. Hopefully I will be doing a post later with my latest news, I’m round my daughters at the moment doing my Nanny duties lol xxx

      1. LOL! I think in 20 years time, you’ll be writing another note to your younger self: “Embrace being 35 – you are still a baby…” I remember when I turned 21, I thought the fact that I was very much an adult made me prehistoric! How little I knew…

      2. I probably will! “Dear younger self, be glad that you still have your own teeth” lol I work with a young lad who was born in 1990, that makes me feel old that I was born in 1978 and he missed the whole of the 1980’s!

      3. My little brother was born in the 1990s too. Missing out on the 80s – in my opinion at least – is a real tragedy! those days will never come back again (now I really am showing my age!)

  1. That urge to fix everything and everyone resonates higher with certain people than others! I’m not sure if it’s good, but I’ve learned to cope–with certain people! πŸ™‚

    And yes, enjoy 35. It’s an amazing age! You’re at the cusp of knowing everything but master of little, which is okay. ‘Cause if you knew everything, you’d be a genius! Anyway, great post, lots of interesting thoughts and quite a lot to think about for your audience. Namely, me! πŸ˜‰

    1. Thank you Jack! It was a rather impromptu post, I didn’t even know what I was going to say until I had posted it! 35 doesn’t look like it’s going to be too bad. I’ve certainly enjoyed 34 so far πŸ™‚

    1. You’re not the only one to say that, these ‘notes to myself’ posts seem to be quite popular! Let Loose are amazing, Lee Murray followed me back on Twitter – I was so excited! πŸ˜€

  2. Great post. πŸ™‚ I so wish I could have a good chat with my younger self! My main piece of advice would actually be to have more fun. Getting good grades hasn’t made much difference to my current self!

Leave a Reply

