Film Review Friday: Poltergeist (1982)

Starring: Craig T. Nelson, JoBeth Williams, Beatrice Straight, Dominique Dunne, Heather O’Rourke, Michael McManus, Dirk Blocker, James Karen, Oliver Robins, Zelda Rubinstein
Runtime: 1 hour 50 minutes
Rating: 15
LoveFilm synopsis: Life is pleasant for the close-knit Freeling family until a host of otherworldly forces invades their peaceful suburban home. Soon their house is transformed into a supernatural sideshow but the forces are anything but friendly. If the family don’t clear out soon, they’ll be swept into a chaotic nightmare!
(Source: http://www.lovefilm.com/film/Poltergeist/26107/)

My verdict: Michael has been insisting that I watch Poltergeist as part of my ‘filmic education’ for a loooooong time. When it arrived from LoveFilm, I managed to put off watching it for two weeks, but by week three, I realised that I needed to watch it or we’d never get any LoveFilm films ever again. I wish I’d watched it when it first came as I really enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. The family were really likeable, the mum made me laugh a lot and the kids were cute without being annoying. I have necrophobia, so I really didn’t appreciate the dead bodies rising from the ground scenes as the make up and effects were too spot on. This is one of the reasons I tend to avoid horror films! I’m looking forward to watching Poltergeist II – The Other Side (1986) and Poltergeist III – The Final Chapter (1988) when they arrive, and I won’t put off watching them!

7 thoughts on “Film Review Friday: Poltergeist (1982)

  1. I don’t do horror films as I’m too scared of them! I do remember seeing bits of this round a friends house when airways a kid though! In fact, the age ratings certs are definitely to be adhered to because having watched bits of Nighta,e on Elm Street etc when I was way too young has put me off watching horror films forever!!

    1. Haha, there are so many people like you who watched horror films way too young! I watched The People Under The Stairs when I shouldn’t have :S I would say that it’s a great film, it’s not really horror to me, except those corpse scenes. I had to look away for them…

    1. It’s a great film. We’ve had Poltergeist II from LoveFilm for about 2 weeks now and I just can’t seem to find time to watch it, though I’d dying to! Carol Anne is just so cute 😀

    1. I know, I was really surprised at how much I liked it. We’ve had Poltergeist II from LoveFilm for a couple of weeks, but I’m really struggling to find the time to sit down and watch it 😦

Leave a Reply

