Goodbye sugar, goodbye!

I have decided that as part of my healthy eating, and the ‘lose 3 stones in 9 months’ campaign trail that I’ve set myself on, that I’m going to stop having unnecessary sugar in my diet. I suffer from Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), and sugar has never agreed with me. I had been eating healthily over the last two weeks, and I felt great, so I really felt like I’d turned a corner. But then some Krispy Kreme doughnuts and some other cakes made their way into the house (totally not my fault – honest!), and I honestly couldn’t tell you how many I ate. What I can tell you though, is how wretched I feel from the sugar rush and how I feel like someone has been using my kidneys as a football. I really won’t miss this feeling, and I used to put myself through this all the time, by eating healthy, then eating crap food, and so on, and so on, like some really rubbish rollercoaster I couldn’t get off.

But now, I want off the rollercoaster because I’ve had a tasty of ‘healthy’ and I like it. It certainly tastes better than a quick hit of chocolate, which then gives me a quick hit of feeling poop for ages.

So yes, goodbye to the sugar for me. Hurrah!

Tomorrow is weigh-in day, but I’m not hopeful after this weekend’s debauchery!

6 thoughts on “Goodbye sugar, goodbye!

  1. My husband and I have been sort of doing the no-sugar thing for two years. I say “sort of” because we cheat a lot. When we do follow it, however; we feel so much better. I’m one of those people who needs dessert every night, so I thought giving up sugar was going to be impossible for me. It’s actually been easier than I thought it would be because I’ve found a lot of sugar-free treats I can make for myself. Here are some of my faves:
    http://honkifyourevegan.com/2013/06/29/cherry-garcia-shake-vegan/
    http://honkifyourevegan.com/2013/02/12/i-cant-believe-its-healthy-hot-chocolate/
    http://honkifyourevegan.com/2013/05/13/almond-joy-milkshake-vegan/
    http://honkifyourevegan.com/2013/03/22/dairy-free-orange-chocolate-pudding/

    Good luck Jenny – you can do this! Celeste πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

