National Vinyl Record Day

Today (12th August) is National Vinyl Record Day!

I am old enough to remember vinyl being the format for singles and albums, and not CDs. The first vinyl record I remember owning was “Kylie” by Kylie Minogue. The album was released in July 1988, and I received my copy for my 10th birthday in the November of that year.

Listening to songs with that little crackle noise was a thing of magic, and I loved how you could stack up a load of records and after each one had finished playing, the next record would drop down and start playing.

Singles I also owned around this time were:
Mike Reid – The Ugly Duckling (1975)
The Jungle Book Soundtrack – That’s What Friends Are For (The Vulture Song) (1967)
The Mary Poppins Soundtrack – Chim Chim Cher-ee (1964)
The Shangri-Las – Leader of the Pack (1964)

Quite an eclectic mix for a 10 year old! I think because my mum didn’t have much money, most of my singles were purchased at church jumble sales and car boot sales. I have such happy memories of listening to vinyl, and I don’t get the same whimsical feeling when I listen to crystal clear CDs.

I know that vinyl is still out there. I did a quick Google search and the below websites came up:

http://www.recordstore.co.uk/recordstore/Vinyl/
https://www.vinyltap.co.uk/
http://www.vinylexchange.co.uk/

and I even found a website called The Vinyl Factory that “is an independent British company that collaborates with musicians and artists to create ultra-premium handmade limited editions and accompanying exhibitions.”

I think I’m going to add ‘record player’ to my “lottery win list” because vinyl is still out there and I’d love to start buying vinyl again.

Did you have any favourite vinyl records? Do you still listen to vinyl. Let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

