BMI calculator

In line with trying to organise my diet and eating healthy, I have been taking a look at my BMI (as scary as that is!). I have found a useful BMI calculator which also advises what calorie range you should be eating in.

Opening screen
Height and weight
Exercise
Results

Now, I will admit that I don’t do any exercise at all, and I live in a bungalow so I get even less exercise at home than people with stairs!

I like how it’s given me the “recommended daily calorie intake” and as I lose weight and re-calculate my BMI, the calorie range changes, so I can keep an eye out that I’m not going over orΒ under my calories. It’s clever!

You can find the BMI calculator here:
http://www.nhs.uk/Tools/Pages/Healthyweightcalculator.aspx

3 thoughts on “BMI calculator

  1. It’s a handy tool but I’m not sold on BMI as an overall concept. According to mine I’m borderline obese (29.4). I know I am overweight but my body fat % is only just over normal. I do weight training 3 times per week and am becoming quite muscular and I’m also very busty. According to my BMI I should be very unhealthy but I’m not sure that’s the full picture.

    1. I know what you mean, I don’t really take it as gospel, I just liked the calorie range thing! As I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, my testosterone levels have always been too high so I’m quite muscly, which obviously makes me heavier on the scales.

Leave a Reply

