Lily-watch

Each year, beautiful white lillies grow in a long tub in our garden. They were planted by my late father-in-law over 10 years ago, and have flowered every year since. As soon as I see them starting to grow through the soil, I keep a vigilant eye on them, as lily beetles (as pretty as they are), have in the past killed off lily flowers before they’ve even had the chance to grow. I’ve tried looking up online what the point of lily beetles are, and I can’t find any positive reason for them. They seem to exist simply to kill off the lillies, which makes no sense to me at all!

I’ve been reading online about lillies (as, before I moved in with Michael in 2009, I really didn’t know much about flowers) and apparently, lily flower stems can grow up to 2 metres (6ft 7in) high, though typically grow up to 1.2 metres (3ft 11in) high. Once ours have fully grown all of their stems, I’ll measure them, but so far they are quite high already.

Lily buds and Willow tree

Lily bulbs and Sky 1

Lily bulbs and Sky 2

3 thoughts on “Lily-watch

Leave a Reply

