Places I’d love to visit with Michael

I’m originally from Leeds, but I have lived in different places around the UK. Michael has only ever lived in Merseyside, so that still leaves quite a few places around the UK to visit. I’m not the best on planes or boats, so I’ve always been more of a UK tourist than anything else and there are so many places that Michael and I have discussed visiting over the 6 years that we’ve been together.

I have just read Paula’s post Places I want to visit and it inspired me to create a blog post of our wishlist destinations. Some of the places listed will have been visited by at least one of us and we’d like to visit together, and some will be new to both of us.

Edinburgh

Neither of us has been to Scotland at all, so still a lot of places to go there! We’d both like to go to Edinburgh first. Michael really wants to see the castle because it’s made of granite and, like York, there’s been no attempts made to modernise it. He also wants to visit the National War Museum. I’m really excited to see the Museum of Childhood (being a massive kid myself!) and Edinburgh Zoo.

Whitby

Michael wants to go to Whitby for the Whitby jet, and also because part of Bram Stoker’s novel Dracula was set in Whitby. I’m excited to visit Whitby Museum and Whitby’s 199 steps. I’ve heard that the view from the top is amazing, and I know that I’ll be shattered once I’ve climbed all of the steps, but I’d hate to have gone all the way to Whitby and not climbed them! Whitby Goth Weekend takes place twice yearly (April and October/November) so we’ll have to time our visit around then! They have a massive list of traders, so I think I’ll need to save up before we go 🙂

Scarborough

Michael wants to go to Scarborough because it’s like the “Southport of the North East coast”. I’ve been to Scarborough many times, mainly because my aunt and uncle live there. Therefore, there are places I really want to show Michael. Obviously, there are the arcade machines along the seafront (I love the 2p machines in particular!), but also Scarborough Castle, Rotunda Museum and no Scarborough visit would be complete without an ice cream sundae at Harbour Bar! It’s such a beautiful place to visit, and we will definitely hop onto one of the open top buses that run around Scarborough.

The Lake District

Michael wants to visit The Lake District as it’s an area of natural beauty. I’m really looking forward to going on a lake cruise on Ullswater lake, courtesy of Ullswater Steamers. It’s a place that neither of us have been to before, but we know so many people who have had such a great time there.

The Isle of Wight

Michael wants to visit The Isle of Wight because it’s where King Charles I was imprisoned (in Carisbrooke Castle), and he loves history. I’m really looking forward to seeing the Isle of Wight Zoo in Sandown, Seaview Wildlife Encounter in Seaview and Ryde pier, which is the oldest seaside pier in England.

Newcastle

Michael wants to go to Newcastle to see the Tyne Bridge, Gateshead Millennium Bridge and the Swing Bridge over the River Tyne. I’ve never been to Newcastle either, but it’s always been on my list of places to visit.

Stonehenge

Michael has always wanted to go to Stonehenge because it’s one of the oldest man-made structures in the country. I’ve never been here either, and it would be great to see them in person.

St Agnes, Isles of Scilly

About 12 years ago, I went on holiday to Penzance, and while I was there, we took a trip over to St Agnes of the Isles of Scilly. It was so peaceful and tranquil, all you could hear was the sound of the sea and birds squawking. To not hear any traffic was so strange, but lovely at the same time. I know that dolphins have been spotted while on the boat journey over to St Agnes, so hopefully we’ll be lucky 🙂

Brighton

I used to live in Brighton, and I lived there for just over a year. I moved there in the February, and even though it was freezing and there weren’t really any tourists, there were plenty of things for me and my visiting friends to do. Michael has never been, but has always wanted to go. Things I’m going to show him include Brighton Pier (especially the freshly made doughnuts!), Sea Life Brighton, Brighton Toy and Model Museum and The Lanes.

I know that that’s a long list, and I’m sure that I’ve forgotten some places (so I might end up blogging about this again!), but I’m really looking forward now to visiting all of these places.

Where would you like to visit?

15 thoughts on “Places I’d love to visit with Michael

    1. Aw, I’m glad to hear you liked Liverpool, I’ve been here for 5 years now and there are so many things I’ve yet to do. Did you visit the Beatles Story when you were here?

      1. I’m not sure, I haven’t been! I see the Magical buses around Liverpool all the time, the people on the tour always look so happy, bless 😀

  1. Jenny, please, please, please stop giving me ideas! I’ll be done for theft at this rate!

    You’ll love Edinburgh – so much going on. And I’ve been through Newcastle on my way to Edinburgh – does that count???

    You’ve convinced me to check out Whitby and Scarborough.

    Great post xx

      1. If you love Christmas that might be a good time to go as they have a nice little Christmas market. Just be sure to do a post on it because I enjoy your posts too 🙂 xx

      2. I was thinking of Christmas, I’m just trying to work on funds. Don’t worry though as I will be blogging everywhere we go now 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

