Desserts from my childhood

I have to be honest and say that I have been inspired to write this post because of my friend Nostalgia Pie‘s blog post Old-Skool Ice-Cream Flavours! I was writing in the comments that when we kids we used to eat neopolitan ice cream slices (from an ice cream block) between two ice cream wafers, which was known in our house as an “ice cream sandwich”. This got me to thinking about other desserts that we had growing up, and here we are!

Apple Charlotte
Now, from having a look around Google, it would appear that Apple Charlotte is actually a completely different pudding! The Apple Charlotte online uses bread as an ingredient, whereas my Apple Charlotte didn’t. It actually looked like the below:
Apple CharlotteThe way my mum made it was to layer the bottom of a bowl with canned apples (I think they were puréed). She would then make up some Dream Topping for the middle layer. The top layer was cornflakes mixed with golden syrup. I remember it went in the fridge for some length of time, which as a child just seemed aaaaaages! So, I have no idea what mine was called, but it was decadently delicious!

Arctic roll
Arctic roll was a roll of ice cream (we only ever had vanilla) which was wrapped in sponge with some raspberry sauce between the sponge and the ice cream. To make it last, as it was a treat, we had the thinnest slices going, so if I had some now, I think I’d probably try and eat at least quarter of it in one go!

Supermousse
Before I started researching for this blog post, I hadn’t even known that this pudding had a name! The strawberry ones were my favourite. You were supposed to let them thaw a little but we could never wait and always ate them frozen, which took ages with a small spoon. It kept us quiet though 😀

Instant Hot Crunch Pudding
This was one dessert which I thought I had no chance of tracking down online, but it was actually fairly easy. It was made by Birds and you’d get two packets in the box. One packet contained powder that you added hot water to which created a type of custard, which you’d then serve up in bowls. The other packet contained a crunchy topping which was like bashed up Hobnobs which was sprinkled on top. I think there was a petition a while ago to bring it back, but it never happened. That’s a shame because I would have bought it!
I really want pudding now!

8 thoughts on “Desserts from my childhood

  1. Awesome post, Jenny and many thanks for the link back. You know I’d totally forgotten about Supermousse but I must confess I’d never heard of hot crunch pudding. I don’t think Mum ever bought that but it looks tasty. In fact all the desserts do. You were very spoilt! But then again so was I, and I definitely still have a bit of a sweet tooth even now.

    Fantastic post! 🙂 xx

    1. Aw, thank you! Your posts are always so awesome that I end up being inspired by you. My grandma used to work in a bakery when I was young and used to bring home marzipan fruits and meringues 😀 xx

      1. Ooh, marzipan fruits and meringues! You lucky thing!!! And lucky grandma, surrounded by all those yummy goodies.

        I’m so glad we inspire each other. LOL xx

  2. I ate this also in my childhood over here in Belgium: neopolitan ice cream slices (from an ice cream block) between two ice cream wafers, which was known in our house as an “ice cream sandwich”.

Leave a Reply

