#LoveWins!

Untitled design

It feels both amazing and humbling to be alive during such a historic time as we are in now. I am, of course, referring to the fact that the US Supreme Court ruled by a 5-to-4 vote on Friday that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. This is something that has been a long time coming and it’s such a shame that so many loving couples have had to wait for so long to be granted the same benefits that straight couples are afforded.

As a bisexual woman, I’ve been the subject of abuse just for being attracted to both sexes, but as my long-term relationships have all been with men, I haven’t had the abuse that I would have received for being in relationships with women. As long as two people are happy, I have never understood why it is the business of anyone else’s.

My husband, Michael, is currently undergoing transition to become a woman, and we are aware that we are going to face all kinds of abuse and have to deal with people with different beliefs to us with regards to trans issues. It’s great to have role models in the public eye such as Laverne Cox and Caitlyn Jenner, and I hope that more people who identify as having gender dysphoria feel more empowered to seek the support that they need to enable them to move their lives forward and finally be able to be happy.

I’ve loved reading all of the #LoveWins articles online, but I really loved this one: Love wins: America celebrates same-sex marriage ruling – in pictures so much. You don’t need words to see how much the law changing means to people, and their happiness is truly deserved. They are proof that love wins.

8 thoughts on “#LoveWins!

  1. A different situation to yours, but as a mixed-race couple, my husband and I have had some not so pleasant encounters. Thankfully they are few and far between and nothing extreme but it can be upsetting nonetheless. My gay friends have had to put up with all kinds of rubbish. It’s amazing that in the twenty first century these kinds of attitudes still exist. But the human race has come a long way and the majority are decent, open-minded people so there’s always hope. I wish you and Michael all the best – and don’t take any crap from anyone xx

    1. Thank you xx

      I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve had to deal with idiots and their opinions. You’re right though; you’d think that in 2015 people wouldn’t have these prejudices, but unfortunately they do. The future holds such happy times for us that a few negative people aren’t going to spoil it xx

      1. I think it just takes some people a very long time to grow a brain and grow up. And of course they think it’s their right to express such views. I’m glad that you and Michael are taking no notice and are positive about the future xx

  2. You seem like such a sweet kind lady. Your post is wonderfully written. I believe strongly in the power of love. i wonder how many wars wouldn’t have begun, how many guns wouldn’t have been fired at people or how many people wouldn’t have been hurt mentally or physically if every person on earth could love unconditionally like you do?

    1. Thank you for your lovely kind words. I am glad to know that there are many out there like me. We are here but for a short time, we should all be happy and supportive and help others.

Leave a Reply

