Helping bees in our garden

Our garden is, admittedly, a bit of a wild garden. I like the fact that it’s a bit crazy because we constantly have insects buzzing around and I love being out there. They don’t even care that you’re there so you can literally spend hours watching them.

I was out there today and I noticed a bee who looked like it was on its last legs. I learnt years ago that you can revive bees with sugar water, so I rushed inside and got some sugary water on a teaspoon and rushed back outside. I got the bee onto the back of my left hand while I held the teaspoon in my right hand, and I offered the teaspoon to the bee. Success! It drank from the spoon and then flew off! I then noticed another bedraggled bee, so I did the same thing and success again! The bee drank and flew off.

I had a look online to see if there was any way that I could make a more permanent ‘sugar station’ and I found a great idea on the RSPB website: “Simply mixing around two tablespoons of white, granulated sugar with one tablespoon of water, and placing the mix in a small container like an egg cup among bees’ favourite flowers, will provide them with energy at this busy time.”

So, that’s what we did! I made the mixture up and filled 4 eggcups (though my advice would be to wait until your eggcups are in situ, as I ended up with sugar water all over my hands when I was moving the eggcups!).

01

We took old thermos flasks and placed a garden cane in them. I then used pieces of broken terracotta pot and stones to fill the flasks and make the canes stable. You could use gravel, soil or marbles, we simply used what we had handy at the time.

02

We then secured the egg cups around the canes using elastic bands.

03
04

We then placed the canes amongst the flowers as little feeding stations 🙂

05
07

As you can see, we do have various bee and butterfly visitors, and I am so happy that we could help them in such a simple way 🙂

08
09
10
11
1213
14
15
16
17
18
19
20

6 thoughts on “Helping bees in our garden

Leave a Reply

