Film Review: They Came Together (2014)


Starring
: Paul Rudd, Amy Poehler, Bill Hader, Ellie Kemper, Cobie Smulders
IMDb synopsis: A small business owner is about to lose her shop to a major corporate development.
(Source: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2398249/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1)

My verdict: Wow. I spent much of the film shouting “no!” in various levels of pitch and I kind of felt like I wanted to watch this through my fingers.

We recently watched the Michael Showalter/David Wain genius that is Wet Hot American Summer, and having loved it so as we had, we decided to watch They Came Together next, which is also a Showalter/Wain film. Paul Rudd plays Joel, a ‘corporate drone’ who works for a big sweet manufacturer, and Amy Poehler plays Molly, who runs a small independent sweetshop. One night, Joel and Molly are having dinner with Kyle (Bill Hader) and Karen (Ellie Kemper) and the discussion of how Joel and Molly met comes up. The film is basically them telling Kyle and Karen the rollercoaster story that is their life. It’s juat hilarious. And hard to watch. And cringe-worthy. Because basically, this film is a spoof of pretty much any rom-com, chick flick, romantically clichéd film you may have seen. Nothing is sacred; the scene with Joel and his Bubby made me actually shout, “noooooooooooo!” at the screen. As Lt. Joe Kenda says, ‘my, my, my’.

If you go to watch this, knowing it’s a spoof, you can’t go wrong. Reviews where people are complaining because it’s too silly, or they “don’t get it”, well, I don’t understand them because I loved it. But then, I loved Wet Hot American Summer too, and it’s just as epic.

Rating: 5 out of 5

As I love to quote from Travis from Clueless,

Leave a Reply

