An existential crisis

The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why

I’ve always loved that quote. Though, at the ripe old age of 37, I’m still waiting for my “why” to present itself to me. I have been in full time employment since I was 17, and none of the permanent jobs that I’ve ever had have been real “Yes! This is what I want to do for the rest of my life! jobs” I’ve had a few public sector temp jobs that were close, but sadly the opportunity to stay on permanently wasn’t an option. So, what to do? I’m hoping to find out one day but like Diana Ross, I’m still waiting 😦

7 thoughts on “An existential crisis

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! I’m not sure if it’s definitely my ‘yes’ moment but teaching English to foreign students comes pretty close and I found that quite late in life. We don’t all realise the why we were born bit at 21 but when we do – it’ll be worth the wait. Just enjoy the ride 🙂

    1. Thanks, I am glad that you’ve found something that you enjoy and makes you happy. I think what you’re doing is amazing, taking the time to help people learn English. You won’t ever know the doors that you have opened for the people you’ve helped, but it must be so rewarding knowing how much you’ve improved that person’s life 🙂 xx

      1. Thank you, Jenny. That’s such a lovely thing for you to say. Being native English speakers, we don’t realise that being able to speak the most widely spoken language in the world isn’t just useful – it’s vital! It saddens me to see my students struggling and I hope that I’ve been able to make a difference in some way xx

Leave a Reply

