All about knitting

Back in 1991/1992, when I was 13, I knitted a baby blanket for my mum as she was pregnant with my little brother. This was the only time I knitted anything, but recently I’ve decided to get back into it. Back then, I used my mum and grandma’s leftover wool to make the blanket out of patchwork squares, so I never needed to know anything about 2 Ply, DK or weights of wool. I felt all sea on a knitting supply website because I had no idea what I wanted! I found the below video on YouTube and I found it really useful.

I also love the video below as I had completely forgotten how to knit! I love her bloopers at the end too πŸ˜€

I can’t wait to get started making a new baby blanket – haha not for me, there will be no pregnancy announcements from me! I really want to donate my blankets to charity, there are quite a few to choose from on this page:
http://www.getknitting.com/ak_charity_knit.aspx

6 thoughts on “All about knitting

  1. When I was at school we used to knit blanket squares for charity and I always had such fun with it. I also made my boyfriend at the time a whole blanket… which took me a year. I’d love to get back into it and maybe make one for my baby.

    1. That sounds like a lovely idea, baby blankets are super cute! That’s real dedication, taking a year to make your boyfriend at the time a blanket. Much nicer than a shop bought one. I can’t wait to see your handiwork πŸ™‚ x

    1. I am currently knitting my second square for a patchwork blanket and I haven’t knitted for 25 years! I had to watch YouTube tutorials to help me to get started. I recommend these two: https://youtu.be/NzCJERenZtA and https://youtu.be/T1fa_nj9fKY to help with the start and finish. For the actual knitting, you should watch https://youtu.be/ONVQCK_-rKc. It’s so worthwhile. I watch Netflix films that Michael’s not bothered about so I get to blog about them afterwards (which I’m about to do), so it’s two useful tasks at once! I really recommend trying it. I bought my needles and wool from http://www.deramores.com/ and I love the stuff I’ve bought! xx

      1. Hey! Thanks for those links. I’ll give it a go but I’m sure that if ever there’s a Great British Knit Off, I won’t be entering! But I love crafts of all kinds so I want to try πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

