My favourite Christmas adverts!

Ah, ’tis the season to be jolly, and time again for the battle of the Christmas adverts! John Lewis had everyone tweeting like mad about their #ManOnTheMoon, but I have to say that I much preferred their Monty the Penguin advert from last year. These are my favourites 🙂

Vodaphone
We’re going vegan this month, so this advert pleases me! I thought it was genius that they used “Flying Without Wings” 😀

Sainsburys
Mog the cat is so cute! Mog was created by Judith Kerr who also wrote The Tiger who Came to Tea and When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit as well as the Mog books. Judith even appears in the advert as a neighbour. To coincide with the advert, Judith wrote a brand new Mog story, which is being sold exclusively in Sainsbury’s stores. Proceeds from the book will go to Save the Children’s efforts to improve literacy in children.

Spanish Lottery
You don’t need to know any Spanish to watch this heartwarming story about Justino, a night security guard in a mannequin factory. Warning: you may need tissues for this one.

McDonalds
You wouldn’t necessarily expect a Christmas advert from McDonalds, but the reasons I love it are: the great use of the Wizzard Christmas classic “I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday” and the northern accents. Being from Leeds, hearing the northern accents on the advert really made me smile.

Irn-Bru
Haha, if they don’t sell this jumper in real life, they’ve lost out. This is Irn Bru’s first new Christmas advert in nine years, and it’s a corker!

BHAFC
I must admit that I don’t know anything about football, but this Brighton & Hove Albion promo for half season tickets starring Bobby Zamora, David Stockdale, Kazenga LuaLua, Bruno and Gordon Greer is pretty cute.

Pieces For Places
My, my, my, I wasn’t expecting the second half of the advert at all! I laughed so hard and it really made me want to jump in the car and drive straight down to Wales to buy scarves a plenty. Incidentally you can buy the scarves in the video, with money from sales going to charity Age UK.

Vision Direct
I love pugs so I was so excited to see Gizmo the pug in Vision Direct’s advert. So so so cute!

TK Maxx
I like the message that TK Maxx is spreading here: “love your neighbour”. According to research from Churchill Home Insurance, 51% of people with neighbours admitted that they didn’t know their neighbour’s first name. Source.

Aldi
Then of course, there’s the John Lewis parody from Aldi. Simply genius.

If I don’t get the chance to blog before the big day, I just wanted to say that I hope you all have a fabulous Christmas and a Happy New Year! xxx

Leave a Reply

