The Voice 2016: my ones to watch

I have been watching The Voice since it started in 2012 and I love the format. In this superficial world that we live in, you can tell that some singers have been passed over in previous competition-type shows because of how they look. The Voice forces the judges to listen to the singer and their, erm, voice, and not be distracted by aesthetics. The last blind auditions show for this year has just been broadcast, and now we know who the judges have for the upcoming Battle rounds. Below are my favourite auditions so far, but I have to say that I was disappointed by this year’s quality. I felt that last year was much stronger, however, there are some great performers and if the right people get through, it will be a great set of live shows.

Cody Frost
Which team is she in? Team George
Cody sang a very different version of ABBA’s Lay All Your Love On Me, it was simply mesmorising. She was the first person I was really excited to see.

Kevin Simm
Which team is he on? Team Paloma
Kevin used to be in Liberty X (the group formed from the people who didn’t get into Hear’Say, and were much, much more successful!), and you can see why he progressed so far in Popstars. It was a flawless performance, and I can’t wait to see him in the Battle rounds.

Chloe Castro
Which team is she on? Team Ricky
Chloe has a lovely style, and I loved her outfit! Straight after I had seen her audition, I put in the YouTube comments, “I have been really disillusioned with this year so far, and Chloe has just grabbed my attention and made me want to watch it again! She’s got a lovely tone to her voice and I can’t wait to see what she sings next.” It’s true, this year has been a real strange one for talent, but I was so glad to see Chloe go through. I think she’s got the right coach as having seen Ricky coaching last year, you know he really cares about getting the very best out of each person.

Tobias Robertson
Which team is he on? Team George
Tobias sang You’ve Got A Friend In Me which you don’t hear as an audition often! He has such a gorgeous tone to his voice.

Bradley Waterman
Which team is he on? Team Paloma
I thought Bradley’s audition was great, a different spin on Cee Lo Green’s song. It will be interesting to see who Paloma pairs him up with in the Battle rounds, but I really hope he progresses on as he’s really good.

Vangelis
Which team is he on? Team George
Vangelis was very brave taking on a Culture Club song when Boy George is one of the coaches, but clearly it paid off. It was a great version, and I can’t wait to see more from him.

Mia Sylvester
Which team is she on? Team Ricky
Mia has an amazing voice and I have no idea why only one judge (Ricky) turned. It’s just crazy! She’s such a great find for the show, and I can see her progressing quite late on into the final shows. Such a great audition and I loved Ricky’s reaction when he realised that he was the only coach to turn, and that he didn’t have to battle with the other judges!

Jolan
Which team is he on? Team Ricky
Before Jolan’s audition, I really thought that Kevin Simm was my all-time favourite, but then Jolan came along and barged Kevin out of the way! I love Terence Trent D’Arby, and you don’t hear his music very often, unfortunately. Jolan did an amazing (or “flawless” as Ricky said) performance, and I must have watched his audition at least 10 times by now. Not only does he have a great voice, he’s cute too and seems like a genuinely nice guy. Bring on the Battle rounds, I really hope he gets through!

Rachel Ann
Which team is she on? Team Ricky
To say that Rachel Ann is only 16, she has such a great voice, simply phenomenal. To say that she was also playing the keyboard too is outstanding, as I should imagine that trying to concentrate on just the keyboard alone in such a big audition would be enough to throw anyone off! A great audition 🙂

So, this year I have someone I’m interested in in all teams, but the scores so far are:

Team Ricky = 4 contestants (45%)
Team George = 3 contestants (33%)
Team Paloma = 2 contestants (22%)

Actually, not all of the teams. Weirdly I have none from Will’s team, which I hadn’t noticed until just now! I just went through all of #TeamWill again to double check that I hadn’t forgotten to save anyone’s audition videos, and nope, I actually don’t have anyone in #TeamWill!

Special mention goes to Lester Preston Jr, whose audition I loved, but sadly no-one turned for him (just, how?!). Hopefully we’ll see him again in the future.

Only 7 days to go until the Battle rounds, I can’t wait!

One thought on “The Voice 2016: my ones to watch

Leave a Reply

