The Voice 2016: Battle Round 1: 27th February 2016

** SPOILER ALERTS IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THE OUTCOME OF TONIGHT’S SHOW! **

As mentioned in my post from last week “The Voice 2016: my ones to watch“, I’m a massive The Voice fan. I picked out my favourite 9 auditions and this week we saw whether any of my favourites made it through to the next round. So, away we go!

It was such an emotional night, I’ve never seen so many tears! This year, part one of the battle rounds seemed less shouty than last year, and left you able to hear how good the singing was as opposed to just how loud some of them could scream.

Jolan (Team Ricky)
Jolan was paired up with Efe Udugba to sing The Jam’s Beat Surrender.
It’s a great song that you really don’t hear often. I really couldn’t call it, as they were both so invested and sang their hearts out. In the end, Jolan won and sadly no-one stole Efe. It’s such a shame to lose anyone this talented, but I know you can only have a certain number go through to the next round.

Chloe Castro (Team Ricky)
Chloe was paired up with Alaric Green to sing Hope There’s Someone by Antony and The Johnsons.
It was a really emotional performance with both Boy George and Ricky Wilson tearing up. Their voices really complimented each other, and even though I hadn’t favourited Alaric’s initial audition, I really enjoyed him tonight. Again, I couldn’t call it, but happily Chloe was picked, though Alaric was stolen by Boy George, so he’s also through to the knockout shows. He’s got a great voice, so it was fantastic that he’s through too.

Tobias Robertson (Team George)
Tobias was paired up with Laura Begley to sing Love Will Tear Us Apart by Joy Division.
It was a slowed-down version and sounded beautiful. I felt both were equally pitched during the song, but when Laura was picked, I could see why. So, Tobias is my first loss of the battle rounds, but I’m sure we’ll see more from him as he’s really talented.

Bradley Waterman (Team Paloma)
Bradley was paired up with Rick Snowdon to sing a mashup of I’m A Man/Something’s Got A Hold On Me by Bo Diddley/Etta James.
What a battle! I hadn’t favourited Rick’s audition, but he can sing! It was a very rock concert performance and both singers gave their all. Sadly though, Paloma chose Rick, but Bradley was stolen by Boy George, so he’s still in!

Cody Frost (Team George)
Cody was paired up with Heather Cameron-Hayes to sing Nothing Compares To You by Sinead O’Connor.
Another amazing performance! To say I was underwhelmed by the auditions, quite a few people have impressed me tonight where I hadn’t favourited their original audition, and Heather is one of those people. It was another emotional performance, with Boy George crying pretty much throughout. I couldn’t call it, but George chose Cody but Paloma stole Heather.

So still to battle next week are:
Kevin Simm (Team Paloma)
Vangelis (Team George)
Mia Sylvester (Team Ricky)
Rachel Ann (Team Ricky)

This means that this week, I still have the below in the running and going into the knockout round:
Jolan (Team Ricky)
Chloe Castro (Team Ricky)
Bradley Waterman (was Team Paloma, now Team George)
Cody Frost (Team George)

But we sadly said goodbye to Tobias Robertson (Team George) 😦

One thought on “The Voice 2016: Battle Round 1: 27th February 2016

Leave a Reply

