I like weird people

I like weird people...

I saw this quote online just now and I really related to it. I am really badly socially awkward and struggle to have anything in common with most girls, as I don’t dress particularly girlie and I rarely wear make up. I’m not really a girlie girl and growing up I was more of a tomboy. Also, I have polycystic ovarian syndrome, which means that my body has more testosterone than oestrogen and has left me with a stocky overweight body for most of my life.

When I was in my 20’s, I really REALLY wanted to be an FHM Magazine High Street Honey. That, to me, was the epitome of social acceptance; FHM had agreed that you had an attractive face and body, and had included you in their annual honey list. As I got older, I still wanted to be a high street honey, and would scour the list, looking for which honey was the oldest; was I still in their age limit? I would never actively actually DO anything to become a “honey”, I just wished I could be one. Nowadays, I’m really grateful that I’m not “high street honey” beautiful. Imagine trying to pop to the shops for toilet roll and getting hit on by every man going.

It’s taken until I saw that quote just now to realise that I have finally learnt to embrace my “weirdness” and I feel so free. It’s such a shame that I have spent the last 26 years (since school started being more “dog eat dog” and “it matters what you look like”) trying to fit in with everyone else, rather than just being happy with the me that I’ve become. So, today has been a big day!

8 thoughts on “I like weird people

  1. I think we all go through that phase of wanting to be that pin-up idea of beauty before realising how miserable it must be to have nothing to offer except the way you look and that that is going to fade too sooner or later.

    1. It’s so true. We feel like we’re not worthy unless the entire world fancies us, but really that attention would be awful! Imagine trying to go to the shop to buy toilet roll and getting hit on by every man going!

  2. This quote reminds me of a scene from Stand by Me. In it, Gordie asks Chris whether he thinks he’s weird. Chris replies ‘Yeah, but so what? Everybody’s weird”. I love that line.

  3. Jenny, this is why I love reading your blog so much. Many of your posts feel as though they could have been written by/about me – and this one is no exception!

    I have always been the outcast, and when I was a teenager I wanted to be some kind of pin up because I thought that would make people be in awe of me and more socially acceptable. Now I couldn’t give a damn about being accepted and have learned to embrace the things that make me weird and unique.

    Long live weirdness!

Leave a Reply

