Whose blog is it anyway?

When I first starting blogging back in 2012, I never thought I’d get any followers. Who’d be interested in my ramblings? I now have followers, and I am so grateful for every one of you. To be honest though, for a long time, I found myself not being able to blog on here because I felt so guilty that I didn’t have the time to read the posts of everyone who follows me. So I figured, if I don’t blog, then I won’t have to upset the people who would have known I’d been online but hadn’t read their posts. It probably doesn’t make any sense, but I didn’t want to offend anyone.

Now that I run the Merryn family of websites (Books, Charity, Magazine and Music) as well as doing my day job, I have even less time than I did in 2012. I have sorted out my email account so that I can read the posts written by my friends, but I am honestly so sorry if I’ve posted recently and haven’t been over to read your blog. If I win the lottery and can leave my day job, I’ll have time to read everyone’s blog. Until then, I have to be selective with my time as trying to please everyone has been making me ill. I figured it was better to focus on my health, which means scaling back on how many people’s blog posts I can follow.

I just wanted to put this out there so people don’t think I am ignoring them by choice, I’m so sorry x

8 thoughts on “Whose blog is it anyway?

  1. I totally understand what you mean. I’ve just started blogging & love it. I have so many things I want to do & blog about, but full time business & life is hard enough to juggle. I’m hoping in the near future things may be a little different for me so I’ll have more of that precious thing called- Time 😊

    1. Haha, I’ve heard of this time thing lol Welcome to the world of blogging, it’s so much fun! I’m looking forward to looking through your posts, your canal boat sounds amazing! πŸ™‚

  2. I am retired, so have time to follow quite a few blogs. Some of them rarely post anything, so they are easy to follow. Others post five or six times a day, seven days a week, so are demanding of time to follow properly.
    I spend almost two hours every morning dealing with email notifications about blogs I follow, as well as many comments on my own two blogs too.
    Later on in the day, I might spend up to two more hours answering further comments, as well as adding a post or two myself. But blogging is my hobby, and I don’t have to go to work. So I don’t blame anyone for being unable to read all the posts, or not having time to comment on them either. I also don’t concern myself with ‘tit for tat’, expecting people to comment on a post just because I did so on theirs.
    I regard myself as part of a community, and like to be around when people do post, or comment on mine, but to stay around when they don’t. Life has to come before blogging, every time.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    1. Hi Pete, thank you for your lovely words, they make a lot of sense. If only I could win the lottery and leave my day job, I’d get so much done for others (I’m on holiday this week, which is why I’ve been able to blog so much). I really appreciate you taking the time to read my posts and to always comment. I really appreciate it x

  3. I have had to cut back significantly since Little O was born. He takes up so much of my time, I can hardly post… never mind read other blogs. It’s not easy keeping up.

    1. It is tricky, isn’t it! Even though I don’t have a child, my life is so full with my other projects (can you tell I hate being bored!) so my “downtime” hobbies have had to take a backseat. I’ve finally sorted out my inbox now and unfollowed a load of people so keeping up should be so much easier as I’ll just work through my inbox. I’ve hated missing out on your posts, yours is one of my all-time favourites πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

