25 years since the release of ‘Take That & Party’

Here’s a blog post I wrote today for one of my other blogs, Merryn Music.

Merryn Music

Today, 17th August, marks the 25th anniversary since Take That released their first ever album ‘Take That & Party’ back in 1992. I remember it well, I had been following Take That since their first single ‘Do What U Like’ dropped in July 1991, with its saucy video including jelly covered bodies (which was intriguing to my 12 year old self!).

So, fast forward to August 1992 and ‘Take That & Party’ was released including top 40 hits ‘I Found Heaven’ (UK #15), Tavares cover ‘It Only Takes a Minute’ (UK #7), ‘A Million Love Songs’ (UK #7), ‘Promises’ (UK #38), ‘Why Can’t I Wake Up with You’ (UK #2) and Barry Manilow cover ‘Could It Be Magic’ (UK #3).

To celebrate this 25th anniversary, we have created a #ThrowbackThursday playlist featuring 50 boybands from The Monkees in the 1960s through to Lawson from last year. Enjoy!

– Jenny

 

View original post

3 thoughts on “25 years since the release of ‘Take That & Party’

  1. Nice to see you back, Jenny. I have been wondering how you were getting on.
    My wife is a big fan of Take That, and she went to see them live at Norwich Football Club a couple of months ago.
    I can take or leave them (no pun intended 🙂 ) myself, but ‘A Million Love Songs’ is a great sing-along ballad.
    I hope that all is well in your world.
    Best wishes as always, Pete. x

    1. Hi Pete, yes I am back again! Things went a bit belly-up for a bit, but they are now better 🙂
      I’m very jealous of your wife seeing Take That though I was lucky enough to see them three times in the 1990s when I was a teenager. I am looking forward to maybe seeing them live again one day 🙂
      I hope you are well 🙂 x

      1. Hi, Jennie. All OK here, with life bumbling along in Beetley in much the same old way. I think my wife must have seen TT a few times, ‘back in the day’. This time, it was her ‘mature’ gig! x

Leave a Reply

